Visit #16, Napoleon Lions Club, Thursday evening October 20, 2011

We left Grand Forks for Napoleon about 1 p.m. It was an uneventful drive; beautiful fall weather. We arrived early enough to unpack and kick back for an hour in our room at the Broken Bell Inn. The Inn is a four-unit, cozy, log-cabiny cluster on the north end of town. I looked through the curtain on the window and could see two hunters cleaning ducks or geese out back

When we arrived at the meeting place we were immediately welcomed by a most enthusiastic greeter and by Lion President Tony. I think the club had a good turnout for this meeting, maybe 25 members? They are a very hospitable group. They did throw me a curveball by offering me the floor before the meal was served. Every speaker knows that you don’t want to be the only thing standing between people and their meal being served! I hurried my remarks along and we got to dinner before it was cold.

The club acknowledged James Ruff’s important appointment as MD5 tree planting chairperson. President Tony invited everyone to attend the state convention in Bismarck next weekend. I couldn’t help but notice a really cool pin on several of the Napoleon Lions’ vests advertising their club. It was a likeness of Napoleon Bonaparte. I tried to buy one for up to $25, but no one would part with theirs.

Several Lion birthdays and anniversaries were observed at the meeting. Lion Donna Ruff brought a delicious homemade carrot cake to put icing on the celebration. Lame pun, I know.

The next morning I awoke to the sound of cattle mooing? I think it must have come from cattle trucks parked nearby, but by the time I decided to get up they were apparently down the road. We saw Lion President Tony when we stopped for breakfast at Reuben’s.

I’m not a country music fan, but had to laugh when driving home we heard a song on the radio by Brad Paisley about checking his girlfriend for the presence of ticks after smooching in the woods. What will they think of next to sing about?

Grand Forks to Napoleon: 243 (overnight)
Napoleon to Grand Forks: 243
Total mileage for the visit: 486
Mileage for the week: 1,111
Mileage for the month: 1,781
Mileage for the year: 4,499

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment