Visit #30, Sheldon Lions Club, Monday evening January 9, 2012

We departed from home in the early afternoon. Another great North Dakota highway travel day—I don’t want to jinx it, but we’ve had absolutely unbelievable weather this winter. I don’t understand it; I just really appreciate it. We stopped for gas and refreshment at our usual gas station south of Casselton on I-94. Maybe I said this before, but I think Brenda and I will deserve to be part owners by the end of my district governor year based on how much money we’ve spent there…or at least they ought to put up a plaque.

We arrive at the meeting place in Sheldon a few minutes early, but club president Gerald Sletmoe (PDG) already had the venue set up and was ready to roll. From the second we walked into the room there was never a doubt that we were in a Lion’s den. All the club paraphernalia was on display.

I can’t say enough about this club and President Gerald’s leadership. Every Lion (man and woman) wore a pin-filled vest to the meeting. Brenda and I were introduced personally to every member of the club. What a nice touch and good manners. I have to admit that one aspect of those introductions was slightly confusing…half the clubmembers were either Bartholomays or Kruegers!

I was pleased to induct new member, Chuck Lemna, to the Sheldon Club. Lion Chuck’s wife will also join, but she was busy this evening playing in a woman’s pool tournament next door.

I can’t remember being so engaged by a group of Lions during a visitation. They kept us around chatting and telling Lions stories for 45 minutes after the meeting. They would have had us stay longer, but we needed to get on the road. The trip home was uneventful and relaxing.

Mileage for the visit: 272
Mileage for the week: 272
Mileage for the month: 424
Mileage for the year: 7,092

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

